James Joyce Birthday

Good Old Encyclopaedia Britannica for sending me regular news. Here’s their latest offering. No commissions involved.

Irish novelist James Joyce, born this day in 1882, was noted for his experimental use of language and his exploration of new literary methods in such large works of fiction as Ulysses (1922) and Finnegans Wake (1939).

Right-click here to download pictures. To help protect your privacy, Outlook prevented automatic download of this picture from the Internet.

“I will tell you what I will do and what I will not do. I will not serve that in which I no longer believe, whether it call itself my home, my fatherland, or my church: and I will try to express myself in some mode of life or art as freely as I can and as wholly as I can, using for my defence the only arms I allow myself to use—silence, exile and cunning.”

James Joyce, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man (1916)

One thought on “James Joyce Birthday

  1. great guy, the one who took English apart, and twas never the same again. His linguistic experiments spawned a line of innovative poets from ee cummings through to Ginsberg; all playing with language, pushing at its boundaries, being reckless with the damn thing.

    The saddest thing about Joyce was his lifelong struggle with deteriorating eyesight – it makes painful reading.

    Great man.

    ggw

Leave a Reply

