On Certitude

One of the pre-eminent texts in the Baha’i Faith is a book written by Baha’u’llah over two days in 1868, called the Book of Certitude. While the book is a discussion of the fulfillment of Biblical and Koranic prophecy, I have always wondered about this concept of certitude. How can one be certain? Well, know my question may be over. If only I had read Wittgenstein who wrote a book called, ‘On Certainty”. Well i still haven’t read it but thanks to a fellow blogger, I realise that I was right to question my ability to be certain but wrong to equate certainty with certitude. “Certitude denoting conviction which does not warrant its subject as fact” is therefore something I can aspire by having evidence enough to be seriously convincing. 

One thought on “On Certitude

Leave a Reply

