TED-ED

I’ve never written a blog about TED. As I sit to write this post, this comes as a bit of a surprise. I have been watching TED online for a number of years now, and it has become a mainstay of my personal education and professional development, a constant reminder and encouragement that my own creative mind will out. So why now? What has happened that I write this post about TED?

The TED blog sits center of my RSS feeds on my web browser. I have used Yahoo! also for many years, and was delighted when I realised I could design my own browser home page of RSS feeds. So in one quick glance every day I touch on a few sources of news, sciences, arts, and the Baha’i Faith, which I find reliable and impactful.

But back to TED. This morning as I opened my browser, I sighted, Introducing TED-Ed; Short lessons for teachers and students to spark curiosity. Well, it sparked my curiosity. I noticed Chris Anderson of TED had written a personal blog about the launch. His words are the reason for my post. Given the Baha’i principle of universal education for everyone throughout life, and the most important place of the teacher, Chris’ words seemed to be speaking straight from the Baha’i playbook. Chris writes, “Teachers are heroes. That’s pretty much the founding principle of TED-Ed.  TED’s core mission is to spread great ideas and teachers are right there at the deep end. They’ve dedicated their lives to helping shape the minds of the next generation. There is no more noble or important work — and it is scandalous that it is not better recognized or remunerated.” So, he goes on, because “TED is known for its ability to evoke curiosity, wonder, and mind-shifting insight.  That should be our prime goal here. Short lessons that spark curiosity. That deliver memorable “aha” moments. That make learning thrilling.” “Our strategy at TED on all projects we take on has become one of “radical openness”. Any internal skills we have are vastly outweighed by people externally, and so we should simply seek to empower them.” “So that’s what today’s TED-Ed launch is. An invitation to teachers across the world to help us dial up the effectiveness of video lessons. As an initial offering, we have posted a dozen lessons that we think show promise. And now we’re ready to assist teachers in creating hundreds more.” TED has signed with Cognitive Media, the groundbreaking animation team (led by Andrew Park) who are behind the wonderful RSA Animate talks, to help animate some of the scripts for short clips.

Go to the TED-Ed introduction here.

Leave a Reply

