Letter to a Teacher

The book arrived!!

I thought I’d just write you a letter for all the public to read.

I haven’t done near enough practice these past few years but I can provide my personal testimony that training in Emotional Effector Patterns provided an access to an emotional range I didn’t think I had. I subsequently realised that restriction of emotional expression is a survival and identity development mechanism for the psychic impositions, even trauma, put on many boys and youth.

The training has wonderfully supported other training I have done in leadership and I am finding, now in my 60s, I am able to bring a better contribution to the world than ever.

Owen holding book open at chapter his teacher in emotional body, wrote.

I can give more straightforward expression to my upset. I can hold my ground for love and care and fairness all at once, without capitulating to upset. I can make strong requests. I can be generous and then hold a line against exploitation by others. And I can feel at ease with have multiple feelings at once, which I once held as ‘out of control’. The work comes with me into the many arenas of my life and even when I feel I have dropped the ball, it assists me in cleaning up the mess with others and in my return to confidence – a set of real tools that I can call on, that give me reassurance I can get back on the field and make my next engagement count.

Dr Laura, I count you and your trainer team as among my true teachers and I haven’t told you enough how impactful the course I attended with has been in my life. I can vouch that you and the Emotional Body trainers are very safe hands in the theatre (can’t help the pun) of the fully expressed human being.

Back to the readers. Of course, Dr Laura is only one of 15 of the world’s best in dramatherapy workers and researchers who contributed to this book, so it is packed with the extraordinariness of this work.

Leave a comment